Pump it up.

28Aug09

phones2
I was listening to the radio this morning while driving and on came an ESPN “Jock Jams” mash up…remember those cd’s? (or tapes, for those of you who are old enough.) That got me thinking about how music really does get people amped up. I remember getting ready to play high school field hockey games at an away stadium that blared Queen’s “We Will Rock You” on the p.a. system and getting all goosebump-y and pumped up. Hell, all you need to do is play the theme from ‘Rocky’ and I’m ready to step into a boxing ring…As a matter of a fact, I do some of my best Wii Boxing while ‘Hearts on Fire’ (training montauge from Rocky IV) is playing, just ask my former roomies.

What I’m getting at, is that music has the ability to lift us up, bring us down, put us in a party mood, or maybe even a fighting mood. Kind of cool that someone else’s creation can have such a profound effect on people. I know anything by Jay-Z puts me in that cocky, I-can-do-anything-and-ya’all-ain’t-got-sh**-on-me mood…What are some songs that have an effect on you guys?

No Responses Yet to “Pump it up.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

